Summer Bucket List

Does your family have a summer bucket list?

Since I actually work MORE at the library during the summer (Summer Reading Club programs don’t happen by themselves!), I have learned that if I don’t make some goals and plans for the summer it flies by without us enjoying some of our favorite activities.

I have some simple activities:

  • Run in the sprinklers
  • Play with sidewalk chalk
  • Feed the ducks
  • Attend a library program (ok, lots of these)
  • Have a picnic

I’ve planned a few road trips:

And we sometimes include particular people on our list:

  • Coffee with my bestie
  • Visit the zoo with grandparents
  • Hike with friends

Your list can be as short or as long as you like. I love reading all the ideas out there.

My son, reading outside.

My son, reading outside.

Of course, lots of reading is on my personal bucket list. Rather than worrying about particular titles, in the summer my children and I read purely for pleasure. My children enjoy not worrying about reading levels or writing book reports. Reading for pleasure also increases their reading speed and combats the infamous academic “summer slide.” My reading bucket list is mostly the places I’d like to read those books:

  • My porch swing
  • A bench on our favorite hiking trail
  • The park overlook
  • The beach
  • and pretty much any other lovely outside place in which I can’t read during the colder months.

Last Summer, my children read over 75 books each – all voluntarily!

What is on YOUR summer bucket list?

 

-Amy Schardein, Children’s Librarian

Leave a Reply

