If You Love It, Gift It

The holidays are upon us! A time for celebration, good cheer, being together with friends and family, and giving and receiving gifts. Now, my mom is the best person to shop for. She told me that she appreciates everything she gets because it means someone took the time to think about her and what she would like. I think that’s the key – something that brings enjoyment and interest, that says “I remembered”. (And thank you mom. You are a great gift giver too.)

Books, movies, and music are an integral part of our lives. They can entertain and engage us time and again, becoming favorites, and then we want to share the titles, films, and songs we love with others. There are tons of new items to choose from, but I tend to pick things I can personally recommend from experience to give as gifts. Not sure if it’s as good as you remember? Check out a copy from the library to preview! ~Leigh K. Mauer, Readers’ Advisory Librarian

While everyone has different tastes, these are some of my “best bet” suggestions with wide appeal:

Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President by Candice Millard. Historical non-fiction paperback.

Bossypants by Tina Fey. Biography audiobook, CD, Unabridged. The book is great, the audiobook is even better! Read by the author.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Fiction. 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Fiction.

Best of Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong on Verve. Jazz music, CD.

Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets. Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band. Rock music, CD.

Singing in the Rain. DVD.

2001: A Space Odyssey. DVD.

This blog post was written by Leigh Mauer, the Reader’s Advisory Librarian at Erlanger. You can find her online at the Literarileigh Blog.

Advertisements

One thought on “If You Love It, Gift It

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s