Classics to Share & Giveaway

wizardI love classic music, books, movies, cars, games and pretty much anything that falls under “classic.” And I love to share the classics with my children – ages 14 and 11. They might not always love it but I do!

Working for the Kenton County Public Library allows me access to thousands of class books, music and movies. But you don’t have to work here to have access. A free library card gives you the same opportunities I have. All you have to do is show a current ID or a piece of mail that proves you live in the Greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area.

I love to share my favorite books with the kids. We have all read the Hunger Games trilogy. Reading these books at the same time sparked hours of conversation in my home. We talked about big government, the characters, what we thought would happen next and much more. We anticipated the release of the movie together and couldn’t wait to see it as a family.

I have shared my love for To Kill a Mockingbird with the children. My dog is even named after that book – Scout Harper. This is definitely my favorite book of all times. It can be a little difficult for a child to read on their own but we were able to read this together and I could answer questions as we went along.

I love introducing the kids to music. My son has become a huge Beatles fan. My daughter uses Freegal to download three free songs per week in order to fill her iPod. All she needs is a library card number and an Internet connection.

We have enjoyed hundreds of movies that we borrowed from the library. I’ve introduced the kids to one of my favorite actors – Johnny Depp – by sharing the Pirates of the Caribbean and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. We have grown to love other actors from Kentucky as well like Josh Hutcherson who stars in the Hunger Games and Bridge to Terabithia.

My family really loves sharing these items with each other and we save thousands of dollars a year by borrowing them from the library. I can figure out my total savings by using this nifty tool.

The Giveaway:

I was given a book that focuses on a classic song – If You’re Happy and You Know it (comes with a CD) and the two-disc 70th anniversary edition of the Wizard of Oz to give away here on the blog. I thought these two items together would make the perfect Classic giveaway.

You can enter several ways. Be sure to comment separately for more chances to win. Enter by noon on Monday, July 8. We will randomly choose a winner through random.org, who will be announced on our Facebook page and emailed.

1. What is your favorite classic book, song or movie to share with others? (required to enter)

2. Like us on Facebook and comment here that you did.

3. Share this contest through Twitter, Facebook, email or text and comment here that you did. If you share on Twitter please use hashtag #kentonlibrary.

4. Use the library calculator and comment here telling us how much you save per year by using the library.

Disclaimer: The movie and book donated to the library.

The winner must pick the prize up at the Covington, Durr, or Erlanger Branch Library. Library employees and those living in their household are not eligible to win.

 

Gina Holt, public relations coordinator, wrote this post.

55 thoughts on “Classics to Share & Giveaway

  1. The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck is my favorite classic book. Not sure if this is considered classic, but The Secret of NIHM is my favorite animated children’s movie.

  2. I LOVE to share Where the Wild Things Are with my students. I even have a finger puppet set based on the book. We share the story, then have a wild rumpus of our own! I can’t wait to read the story to my son!

  3. I am a big fan of the Kenton County Library…reading every day …saving lots of $$$. I liked you on FB and for a good book I loved the series Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

  4. The Wizard of Oz is my all time favorite movie and book! I watch it all the time. My favorite song in the movie is If I only had a brain. I love the song Going on a bear hunt. I have a collection and I am still adding more to it. I liked youa and I shared this contest on Facebook. I save lots of money by goin to the library. I watch DVDs, read books, take my grandson to story time, and much much more. I would really love to win! 🙂 This would be awesome for my collection! Thank you! 🙂

  5. For many years now whenever my kids have friends over for the night we make sure that some classics are on the tv menu for the evening. Nobody should go through their teenage years without seeing such classics as The Blues Brothers, Animal House, Fast Times, Breakfast Club, etc

  6. Favorite classic book is hard to narrow down…I loved reading Great Expectations. I thought book was wonderful.

  7. We saved $3360 not including games we borrowed and books we bought at sales. Great deal, you can’t beat it.

Leave a Reply

