Welcome to the Library Blog

Welcome to the Kenton County Public Library Blog. I promise this won’t be boring and is totally worth the read. We will update the blog every Tuesday with posts about library materials and its services and relevant topics to the community. The posts will include topics on children’s, teens, adults, history and genealogy, outreach and more. Several of your favorite staff members will contribute to the blog.

We will also have fun contests and giveaways. In fact, let’s have one now. I have a cool Kenton County Public Library tote bag filled with goodies, including four tickets to the Cincinnati Museum Center (donated). Ways you can win:

1. Leave a comment here letting us know what you would like us to write about (required).

2. Become a fan of the Kenton County Public Library on Facebook and comment here that you did: http://www.facebook.com/KentonCountyPublicLibrary

3. Tell a friend about our blog through Twitter or Facebook and comment here that you did.

4. Subscribe to our blog.

You must do # 1 to be entered. Doing #2-4 will earn you extra chances to win. Enter to win by Monday, Oct. 1 at noon. Be sure to include your email address.

Good luck!

43 thoughts on “Welcome to the Library Blog

  1. When I wrote my undergrad thesis in local history, my hometown library was invaluable to me. I spent so many hours pouring over old reference materials, out of print reserve books and as much primary source material as I could get my hands on (delicately, of course!). I’m sure there are many of us who would like to know what similar resources might be available in Kenton County, for both the professional and amateur historian.

  2. I’ve been a Facebook fan for some time (which is how I knew about the blog). I would like to see book recommendations by genre.

  3. Could you write about a day in the life of a librarian? Maybe what you mainly do, and any especially interesting stories that happen along the way? I’d love to hear that!

  4. I’d like to read book recommendations, brief book reviews on adult books and kid books, and notices for upcoming library events.

  5. Definitely see more book recommendations. Maybe some movie recommendations too for moview you guys have. I’m already a fan, that’s how I found this page πŸ™‚

  6. I’d like to read about your programs and services for children and adults. You may also want to include in your blog some interesting information about the local community.

  7. Off the top of my head…I would love to see book/movie recommendations for adults, teens, and children; what (if any) programs or services that are available to the hearing impaired and deaf; local history information would be great; how our family (with young children) can be a help to our wonderful local library.

  8. Already a fan on FB. How about a post on how awesome Goodreads.com is, and how by joining that site, you will quickly have a to-read list longer than you know what to do with.

  9. I’d love to hear about programs and book recommendations for kids and adults, esp. “if you like this book, check these others out” type things (books with similiar themes).

  10. Thanks for such a great library! I am a fan on Facebook and have encouraged a Facebook friend to become a fan also. I’ve subscribed to your blog and look forward to finding out all the good things that you have to tell us about the library! My suggestion is to let us know which magazines you have there and perhaps recommend good articles for our reading. In my opinion, the best place to visit is . . . the KENTON COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY!!!

  11. I would like to hear more about the outreaches the library does and some of the programs it supports like project linus and scarf it up:0

Leave a Reply

